Unplug to Recharge

Reconnecting With Reality

Going Public Season 2 is Here!

Going Public is a show like Shark Tank where viewers can invest in featured startups while they watch. It's a groundbreaking original series where we follow the stories of founders on their capital-raising journeys, and for the first time, viewers globally can Click-to-Invest and buy shares in featured companies in under a minute.

There’s nothing like this show in the market - it’s an anomaly in our industry. Companies who are featured have the potential to raise millions of dollars, drive new customer acquisition, and create massive mainstream brand awareness for their businesses – all at the same time.

Season two of Going Public has five episodes that are 14 minutes each. Former NBA star turned investor Baron Davis hosts the show and A-list celebrities like Floyd Mayweather take founders out of their comfort zone with challenges like getting in the ring with him to see how far they’re willing to go to raise capital.

Season two is streaming now on MarketWatch. Watch here!*

This year has changed me in many ways. Transitioning to a full-time remote worker has brought immense happiness and flexibility into my life. Yet, it has also entrenched me deeper into the digital world, as it has for many of us. With every aspect of our lives increasingly intertwined with technology, I began to reflect on what I truly wanted—and didn’t want—from my work and personal life.

I didn’t want to wake up 30 years from now, in a digital haze, trying to figure out if I provided any real value to the world. I wanted to create memories and connections outside of the screen. This introspection led me to a book that had been collecting dust on my shelf for years: Cal Newport’s Digital Minimalism.

Reading this book wasn’t a profound revelation, but rather a powerful reminder of how much our lives have become dominated by the digital realm. It also nudged me towards a return to my analog roots.

Picture this: you spend your day in virtual meetings or working on a computer. You come home and “unwind” by watching TV, playing video games, or endlessly scrolling through social media until bedtime. Then repeat the cycle day after day, week after week, until time suddenly slips by and you wonder where it all went. Sound familiar?

The convenience and allure of screens have a strong grip on our daily routines. At first, it seemed impossible to break free from this digital cycle. But I knew I had to make a change. I started with small steps towards reducing my screen time. Instead of reaching for my phone first thing in the morning, I began my day with a book or a quiet moment of reflection. Gradually, these small changes started to add up, leading to a significant shift in how I spent my time.

Determined to break free, I decided to limit my digital device usage. As a result, I’ve rekindled my love for several analog activities:

  • Reading more books: There’s something profoundly satisfying about turning the pages of a book, feeling the paper between your fingers, and getting lost in a story without the constant distraction of notifications. I’ve even been taking weekly trips to the local library.

  • Getting more sleep: Without the constant blue light from screens, I’ve found it easier to wind down at night and enjoy a restful sleep.

  • Gardening: Watching plants grow from seeds to fully grown plants has taught me patience and the joy of nurturing life.

  • Woodworking: Creating something tangible with my hands has brought a sense of accomplishment and a break from the intangible digital world.

  • Doing projects around the house: Simple tasks like fixing a leaky faucet or painting a room have become meditative and rewarding. House projects may be tedious, but they give me a reason every day to unplug.

  • Walking the dog without any digital distractions: These walks have become a time for me to clear my mind and connect with my surroundings. Try doing this without your phone or headphones. Instead of listening to a podcast or music, just listen to your surroundings and be present in the moment.

  • Cooking: Experimenting with new recipes and savoring the process of creating a meal from scratch has become a fun new ritual. Mixing in some of the fresh vegetables and herbs I’ve grown is an added benefit.

  • Spending quality time with my kids: Being present with my children, without the constant pull of my phone, has deepened our connection. More time spent reading, playing board games, and teaching them new things.

  • Journaling with pen and paper: Writing my thoughts by hand has helped me process my emotions and reflect on my day.

  • Working out more: Physical exercise has not only improved my health but also provided a much-needed break from screens.

These activities may sound basic, but fitting them into a day dominated by screen time is still surprisingly difficult and takes a dedicated effort and commitment. Limiting my digital interactions has also meant less blogging. Though I enjoy writing about current events, I’ve realized how much time it steals from these enriching analog pursuits. It has also been more difficult to blog when I don’t feel like I’m always connected to the latest news on X and consuming it in shorter bursts.

The turning point for my switch to analog came when one of my kids remarked on my constant phone use. My initial reaction was defensive, mixed with a sense of shame and embarrassment. I never wanted to be that parent who relies on an iPad to entertain their kids at a restaurant, yet I was guilty of constantly checking my phone in their presence, which felt hypocritical. Also, I know their young brains are watching the way I interact with my digital devices and absorbing everything I do. So I want to be careful around them to instill good digital habits.

To curb my own digital habits, I bought a simple timed lock box. Now, when the workday ends and the kids are home, we lock our phones away until they’re in bed.

At first, I yearned to check my phone may times. But over time, I realized how unimportant most messages, emails, and social media updates truly are. They can also be condensed into short viewing windows so that you aren’t constantly bombarded and distracted from alerts and pings.

Practicing mindfulness and staying present is nearly impossible when you’re always flipping through digital tasks. Embracing analog activities has allowed me to be more meditative and grounded, while also honing new, rewarding skills.

I’ve become so immersed in the digital world that I now seek any excuse to step outside and engage in hands-on activities. Whether it’s gardening or woodworking, these simple, tactile experiences have brought back the joy I felt before our lives were consumed by screens and digital connections.

In rediscovering these analog joys, I’ve found a sense of fulfillment that the digital world can never replicate. It’s a return to the simple, meaningful moments that ground us and make life truly rich.

As I continue this journey, I hope to inspire others to find their own path back to the analog activities that bring them joy and peace. In doing so, we can reclaim a piece of ourselves that the digital world has overshadowed, finding balance and contentment in the process.

It’s time to unplug to recharge and reconnect with reality.

*This is a paid advertisement for Going Public. All solicitations of investors to buy securities are being made by, and all information included on the series and the website relating to the issuers and their securities has been provided by and is the responsibility of, such issuers. Should a person choose to invest or attempt to invest in an issuer, all such sales will be effected by the issuer. The company and the sponsors have no role in effecting such transactions. On Going Public, you will hear from different companies who are giving viewers an opportunity to invest through an exemption from registration with the SEC called Regulation CF and/or Regulation D 506 (c). These offerings have not gone through a registration process with the SEC and do not have the investor protections that it provides. The securities offered are speculative and illiquid, and an investor could lose the entire investment. Investors should read the relevant Offering Circular and consider the risks therein before investing. It should be noted, that just because the show is called “Going Public,” there is no guarantee that any company will in fact, go public, or ever list on an exchange. You need to know the risks going in. 17(b) Disclaimer: Click Here. Disclosure Regarding the Role of Going Public®, its sponsors and Crush Capital. Max International and Cards & Coffee are “testing the waters.” No money or other consideration is being solicited, and if sent in response, will not be accepted; No offer to buy the securities can be accepted and no part of the purchase price can be received until the offering statement is filed and only through an intermediary's platform; and a person's indication of interest involves no obligation or commitment of any kind.